Beer in mind: Brewers Guild of New Zealand NZ Beer Awards 2017

October 10, 2017
Beer in mind: Brewers Guild of New Zealand NZ Beer Awards 2017

Christchurch turned out in force to celebrate the best of the brews on Saturday night.

Each year, the Brewers Guild of New Zealand recognise the trailblazers within the craft beer industry that are streets ahead of the rest, Saturday's annual awards evening no exception.

Hundreds of industry professionals, beer writers, brewers, media and hospitality personalities filled the Air Force Museum New Zealand in Christchurch's Wigram on Saturday night, to celebrate excellence in brewing, beer writing and stellar craftsmanship.

While the boys from Te Aro cleaned up with the Champion New Zealand Brewery Award, the event acknowledged and celebrated a wide variety of craft brewers and industry insiders around the country, while highlighting just how far we've come in the brew game.

Former Dish magazine deputy editor and beer author Alice Galletly was recognised for her work as Beer Writer of the Year, while Tuatara Brewing Co. also enjoyed a string of wins. Matakana-based duo Kirsty McKay and Mike Sutherland of Sawmill Brewery, received critical acclaim for their grunty Baltic Porter.

In keeping with previous years, Dish are proud of our role as one of the event's primary sponsors. The Brewers Guild of New Zealand NZ Beer Awards boast an impressive line-up of esteemed and experienced local and international judges, from Australia, America and beyond.

It's this diversity of background and quality of judging that ensures the Brewers Guild of New Zealand nod of approval is one of the most prestigious accolades a brewer can win.

Here is this year's full list of award winners:

Champion New Zealand Brewery: Garage Project Brewery

Champion Manufacturer:Steam Brewing Company

Champion International Brewery: Boston Beer Company

International Lager:McLeod’s Brewery

LongboarderNew Zealand Lager: Eagle Brewing

Dry Hopped Pilsner British Ale:Lion BSW NZ

Speight’s 5 Malt Old Dark European Ale: Tuatara Brewing Co. Tripel Barrel

US Ale: Brave Brewing Co Clifford

Pale Ale:Tuatara Brewing Co Aotearoa Pale AleStrong

Pale Ale:Bootleg Brewery ApeHanger IPA

Stout & Porter: Sawmill Brewery Baltic Porter

Wheat & Other Grain:Sawmill Brewery Sawmill/Good George Weizenbock

Flavoured: Garage Project Brewery Cabbages & Kings

Specialty, Experimental, Aged, Barrel & Wood-Aged:Liberty Brewing Co Prohibition

Cider or Perry: Lion BSW NZ Isaac’s Cider Original

Fruit or Flavoured Cider or Perry:Zeffer Cider Co Apple Crumble Cider

Packaging: Emerson’s Brewery Emersons 6pk Range

Morton Coutts Trophy:Hamish Jones, The Nuts Brewing Co

Beer Writer of the Year Award:Alice Galletly

Honours Awards

Honorary Member:Ralph Bungard

Honorary Member: Craig Bowen

Industry Achievement:Gabi Michael 

Industry Achievement:Doug Michael

President's Award: Jenny Cameron  

To learn more about the Brewers Guild of New Zealand, see their website here.