Beer in mind: Brewers Guild of New Zealand NZ Beer Awards 2018

September 27, 2018
Beer in mind: Brewers Guild of New Zealand NZ Beer Awards 2018

The Brewers Guild of NZ’s annual NZ Beer awards were held in Nelson last week, and after a shake up to the Champion level trophies, more breweries and industry folk had the chance to walk the stage this year.

Kicking off with the style trophies, 12 breweries took out the 14 “best of” awards, with bronze, silver, and gold medals being awarded to many more. Following this were the special awards, given to Michael Donaldson for NZ Beer Writer, the Morton Coutts Trophy to Tracy Banner for her 35-year career in brewing. The President’s award was given to Helen Matthews, and Industry Achievement awards given to Warren Amos and Doreen Helms.

The evening’s formal agenda finished with the celebration of newly created Champion level awards. And it was good news for Bach Brewing winning the inaugural Champion Exhibitor trophy, and Moa Brewing Company taking the Champion New Zealand Beer trophy home. For, Lion BSW, Parrotdog, and Fork, it was smiles all round as they were awarded the newly added Champion Large, Medium and Small New Zealand Breweries at The Trafalgar Centre in Nelson. Fork’s Kelly Ryan wasn’t at the event, but learned via Twitter that his brewery had won. Completing the Champion level trophy round was Steam taking home Champion Manufacturer, and the International award going to Boston Beer Company’s Samuel Adams.

The 2018 awards saw a grand total of 903 entries. It was announced at the end of the awards ceremony that next year’s Brewers Guild of NZ awards will be held in Wellington.

Here is this year's full list of award winners: 

Champion Awards

Champion New Zealand Exhibitor (sponsored by Gladfield Malt): Bach Brewing Company

Champion New Zealand Beer (sponsored by Cryer Malt): Moa Brewing Company, Moa Southern Alps White IPA

Champion Large New Zealand Brewery (sponsored by NZ Hops): Lion BSW

Champion Medium New Zealand Brewery (sponsored by Enpac): Parrotdog

Champion Small New Zealand Brewery (sponsored by Kegstar): Fork

Champion New Zealand Manufacturer (sponsored by Enpac): Steam Brewing

Champion International Brewery (sponsored by Bintani Australia): Samuel Adams

Trophy Awards

International Lager to Lion BSW, Speight's Triple Hop Pilsner

New Zealand Lager to DB, Monteith's Original Ale

British Ale to Lion BSW, Mac's Sassy Red

European Ale to Kereru Brewing, Feijoa Weisse

US Ale to Moa Brewing Company, Moa Southern Alps White IPA

Pale Ale to Bach Brewing, Billfish APA

Strong Pale Ale to Lakeman Brewing, Hairy Hop

Stout & Porter to Boundary Road, Jack the Sipper

Wheat & Other Grain to Lion BSW, Mac's Great White

Flavoured to Aotearoa Breweries, Mata Cola Cuz

Specialty, Experimental, Aged, Barrel, Wood-Aged to 8 Wired Brewing, Lokomotiv Merlot

Cider and Perry to Zeffer Cider Company, Demi-Sec

Fruit or Flavoured Cider or Perry to Good George Brewing, Good George Doris Cider

Packaging to Sprig & Fern Brewery, Sprig & Fern Range

Special Awards

Morton Coutts Trophy (sponsored by DB Breweries): Tracy Banner

Beer Writer of the Year (sponsored by Brewers Guild of NZ): Michael Donaldson

Industry Achievement Honorary Award: Warren Amos, Doreen Helms

President's Honorary Award: Helen Matthews


To learn more about the Brewers Guild of New Zealand, click here to visit their website.